top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTammy McHale

What Does Your Garment Say About You?

Garment. What is a garment? It is an item of clothing. A garment keeps our bodies covered and protects us from the elements. We can sometimes tell where people come from by the garments they wear. Garments from other countries can be very different than what we are accustomed to seeing. For instance, African garments are very colorful. If you live in a very cold climate, you wear garments that are made of thick durable material to keep you warm. And so on and so forth.


There is a story in the New Testament about a certain garment a sick lady was looking for. In Mark 5:25-34, we read of a woman who “had a flow of blood for 12 years.” She had spent all her money on doctors to heal her, but to no avail. Her ailment got even worse as time went on. She heard about THE HEALER being in town so she followed HIM and said, “If only I may touch HIS clothes, I shall be made well.” Immediately she was healed.


When people are hurting, they will search for healing until they find it, just like the woman with the problem with her blood. Later on, as JESUS went to other villages, cities, or even in the country, “they laid the sick in the marketplaces and begged HIM that they might just touch the hem of HIS garment, and as many as touched HIM were made well.” (Mark 6:56)


As Christians, do we wear HIS garment? Psalm 132:9 says, “Let YOUR priests be clothed with righteousness, and let YOUR godly ones sing for joy.” According to 1 Peter 2:9, Christians “are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation…” Do we wear love, grace, compassion, etc. so that people can tell where we are “from”?


Isaiah 61:10 says, “I will rejoice greatly in the LORD; my soul will exult in my GOD, for HE has clothed me with garments of salvation. HE has wrapped me with a robe of righteousness.”


When people look at me, I want them to see where I’m from, that I belong to JESUS. What do your garments look like? Do they reflect where you are “from”?

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Returning Home

3/19/2023 Returning Home When my oldest son graduated from high school, he decided to go into the Air Force Reserves. His father and I were so proud of him, I was also frightened. I didn’t know what t

Looking Back

This time last year was so hard. My husband was in the hospital with Covid and had been put on a ventilator. There was no way I could go see him because of hospital regulations, and I was devastated,

Sweetness in Hard Places

As I was driving to work one morning, I heard a song on the radio, “Honey in the Rock “, by Brooke Ligertwood. She was singing about how the LORD provides what we need when we need it. But the LORD g

bottom of page