top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTammy McHale

Throw Away those Mountains!

I so enjoy the mountains. To me, the mountains are some of the most beautiful pieces of GOD’s creation. When the leaves change in the fall, the view is breathtaking. Many animals call the mountains home. There is plenty of food for them to eat and water for them to drink and lots of places to hide if they feel threatened.

Mountains can also be daunting for those who don’t know how to handle them. If you climb high enough, the air gets thin, and it gets harder to breath.

I remember when my husband and I took our family to Brasstown Bald. This is a mountain in North Georgia where you can see five different states when you reach the top. There is a warning sign at the bottom, where the trail to the top starts, for those who have breathing or heart conditions. They offered a van ride to the top, but we decided to walk it. When we reached the top, we were exhausted, and it took us a while to get ourselves together to enjoy the view. But, what a view!! Getting up the mountain was hard, but, oh what beauty we beheld when we overcame the trial of getting up there.

Mountains can be hard to get over or get around. You are afraid you can’t make it. It’s like your faith has failed you, and you just want to stay where you are. You are afraid of the huge mountain looming in front of you, even when it means that you will be doing what you know the LORD wants you to do.

JESUS tells us In Mark 11:23-24, “For assuredly I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be removed, and be cast into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that those things he says will be done, he will have whatever he says. Therefore, I say to you, whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you will receive them, and you will have them.”

JESUS is not asking us to throw landmasses around like they were nothing. HE wants us to remove the “mountains” that are hindering our relationship with HIM. HE has empowered us through faith to get over, around, or through the mountain, whatever it may be. Ask JESUS to help you. When you have faith, even a little, those mountains holding you back will be easier to climb, and some of them might even crumble with each step of faith you take.

Each of us have different and difficult mountains we must face and move out of the way. Some of the “mountains” I have faced have been fibromyalgia, depression, unforgiveness, and bitterness. With each step I took, the next one became easier, until those mountains became rubble under my feet. But I didn’t do it in my own strength. JESUS was and is my strength.

Name the “mountains” you are facing. Ask the LORD to give you HIS strength. Take one step, then another, feeling that mountain crumble under your feet. At that moment, you can pick up each little piece of that mountain and throw it away in victory. With time, prayer, and close fellowship with the LORD, each “mountain” you come against will become easier to throw away.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Returning Home

3/19/2023 Returning Home When my oldest son graduated from high school, he decided to go into the Air Force Reserves. His father and I were so proud of him, I was also frightened. I didn’t know what t

Looking Back

This time last year was so hard. My husband was in the hospital with Covid and had been put on a ventilator. There was no way I could go see him because of hospital regulations, and I was devastated,

Sweetness in Hard Places

As I was driving to work one morning, I heard a song on the radio, “Honey in the Rock “, by Brooke Ligertwood. She was singing about how the LORD provides what we need when we need it. But the LORD g

bottom of page