top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTammy McHale

Rest Time

I love my granddaughters very much. Kaitlyn is five, quiet, and loves to cuddle in blankets. Willa is three. She is our independent fiery red-head, Need I say more. But they are wonderful, and this Mimi could not love them any more, even if I tried.


I had the privilege of keeping them the other day. We had pancakes for breakfast and left-over spaghetti for lunch with cupcakes for dessert. I built a tent out of blankets and chairs for them to sit under while they watched their favorite cartoons.


After one of their favorite movies ended, I announced it was naptime. We all headed to my room for what I thought would be a nice quiet rest. I was unaware of the adventure I was to undertake over the next hour.


The girls were quiet, oh but what wiggle worms! I kept having to tell them to get still. Kaitlyn eventually drifted off to sleep. But Willa was fighting it for all she was worth. I even caught her trying to pry open a sleeping Kaitlyn’s eyelid. Not kidding!


I knew Willa was tired, but she would not give in to sleep for anything. I quickly pulled Willa into my arms. She didn’t like it very much, but I did it anyway. As I held her, she finally gave in and fell asleep.


My husband calls it the “Mimi hold”. I will get a child in my arms and hold them and love them. Sometimes I sing, sometimes I just watch as they finally fight the urge and give in to the rest they so need.


As I was remembering holding Willa until she gave in, I thought about how this is so like us in fighting what GOD is trying to do for us sometimes. We wiggle and squirm and fight not wanting to give in. We want to do our own thing. GOD lovingly keeps nudging us to trust HIM. But eventually we do give in to our Heavenly FATHER. And when we do, we wonder why we did all that unnecessary struggling and fighting to begin with.


If you are trying to keep doing your own thing when GOD is trying to get you to do what HE knows if best for you, stop fighting. Fall into HIS arms and find HIS rest. There is peace and joy like you have never known before. HE loves you! JESUS gave HIS life for you, all because HE loves you and wants what’s best for you!! (John 3:16 For GOD so loved the world, that HE gave HIS one and only SON, that whoever believes in HIM should not perish, but have eternal life.) Stop fighting! Rest in HIS loving arms. (Matthew 11: 28-29 Come to ME all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from ME for I am gentle and lowly o heart, and you will find rest for your souls)


Stop squirming and resisting and REST in the loving arms of GOD, the one who knows best what you need.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Returning Home

3/19/2023 Returning Home When my oldest son graduated from high school, he decided to go into the Air Force Reserves. His father and I were so proud of him, I was also frightened. I didn’t know what t

Looking Back

This time last year was so hard. My husband was in the hospital with Covid and had been put on a ventilator. There was no way I could go see him because of hospital regulations, and I was devastated,

Sweetness in Hard Places

As I was driving to work one morning, I heard a song on the radio, “Honey in the Rock “, by Brooke Ligertwood. She was singing about how the LORD provides what we need when we need it. But the LORD g

bottom of page